RSS

Cooking Farm Raised Meat -Chicken

25 Feb

Bought chicken thighs from Family Farm Coop, had less then 1 cup of raw buttermilk left so to the cookbooks I went. This recipe is so easy.

1 cup of buttermilk, place chicken in to soak.  I soaked the chicken thighs for about 20 minutes.

Chicken Thighs in Buttermilk

Chicken taking a buttermilk bath

1 cup of flour, I seasoned the flour with my Season salt. Roll the Chicken around in the flour to coat.

Chicken thighs browning

Thighs browning nicely

1-2 Tablespoons of Olive oil in a hot skillet, place the chicken skin side down in the skillet.  Cook for 3-5 minutes until brown and flip the chicken over and brown on that side.  Lower the temp and cook until done.

Results & Conclusions:

I cooked the thighs to 170 degrees and found them to be tough, even for me, now on to the questions -

Why were they tough?  These are farm raised, grass roaming little chickens, so they could just be an Athletic chickens.

Did I not cook them long enough? I did put the lid on them while cooking, did that form to much steam??

Was the heat not correct? Should I have cooked them lower and slower, next time will tell.

Was it the Buttermilk bath? too long – not long enough? Not sure what this answer could be.

Well I need to buy another package of thighs and cook them again – however I think instead of trying something new I need to go by the old standard of sticking them on my stone baking sheet and let them cook in the oven.  It is amazing that when you start eating fresh, farm raised meat you have to change the way you cook sometimes.

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Cooking Farm Raised Meat -Chicken

  1. Sarah

    April 24, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    I had a similar problem with toughness when I cooked my farm raised chicken! I learned from people the trick is slow and low. Love your recipes!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

